The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


A Tribute to My Friend Amanda: Snow Cake

It has been a mild winter, to say the least.


We’ve had the promise of four separate snows. None of them amounted to anything.

And today, the high is supposed to be in the seventies. In February. It’s just not right.

Still, we’ve tried for that beloved event of the winter-the snow day. We’ve made four snow cakes.

Several years ago while preparing for book club, my friend Amanda made this cake. It snowed, and book club was canceled. When book club was rescheduled, she made it again. Again, we were snowed out. After the third time she made the cake and book club was snowed out, we dubbed the cake “The Snow Cake.” We’ve been been making it with the hopes of snow ever since.

It is a very simple cake, and it is mostly effective for making it snow. When snow is in the forecast, the cake must be made as insurance for a day off.

I have made it totally from scratch, and I have made it from a box mix. Either way makes a lovely, moist cake that sometimes guarantees a wintry mix.

Amanda’s cake has a better snow success rate than mine does, but I’ll share mine for this blog’s purposes.

The recipe using a box mix:

One box of any white cake mix, although I like Duncan Hines best. Once I used a yellow cake mix. I then had a yellow snow cake. It was good, but one should not eat yellow snow, so it was a little weird.

Anyway, I digress. Make the cake according to the directions on the box. Allow it to cool slightly. Using a fork, poke holes all over the whole thing.

Then mix
1 can of evaporated milk
1 can of sweetened condensed milk
1/2 cup of heavy cream

Pour the milk mixture over the warm cake. Pour nice and slowly and cover the whole cake. Let the cake set until all of the milk is absorbed.

To make the icing, beat 2 cups of whipping cream until thick. Add 3 tablespoons of sugar and whip to incorporate.

When the cake is cool and the milk is absorbed, spread the cream over the cake. Keep it refrigerated.

As you eat this beautiful, white, super moist cake, pray for snow for the teachers out there like my friend Amanda who deserve a day off. Or two.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yum mm reminds me of a southamerican cake called tres leches meaning 3 types of milk, and it’s pretty much the same concept I was gonna ask you for your cake from scratch recipe. I can’t wait to try this out! Yumm

Comment by Soulfoodie

[…] days-or ice days around here-mean baking.  I have the time to try something new on these special days, and it is great […]

Pingback by Snow Day Mississippi Mud Cake « The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It




Leave a comment