The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Snow Day Mississippi Mud Cake

Snow days-or ice days around here-mean baking.  I have the time to try something new on these special days, and it is great fun.

We got out of school today in the early afternoon due to the impending white gloom on its way, and Mr. Opinionated got off work a little early too.  I perused several cookbooks before he got home from work trying to decide what to bake.  I was thinking of maybe a new sweet potato pie recipe or maybe a coffee cake.  Both, however, were shot down.

“How’s about a Mississippi mud?” he asked.

And so it is.

Snow day baking is the epitome of making do-I can only do with what I have on hand.  I had plenty of eggs, sugar, flour, butter and such.  I didn’t have plenty of powdered sugar and oil, though. And, I was not about to leave the house only to slide from here to the store.

So, the question of this snowy, bleak day is: Will this cake idea work?

The recipe is the same as my momma’s with some minor snow day-necessary modifications.  I used 1 and 1/4 cups of water instead of 1 cup of water and 1/4 cup of oil.  I had heard that that would work and was the secret to my friend’s super moist cakes.  Instead of oleo, I used salted butter.  I didn’t have a whole box of powdered sugar, and so I used the 2 cups I had. I also added a cup of pecans that I roasted for seven minutes in the oven while the cake was in.  That’s a Paula Deen thing.  I also had to substitute marshmallow fluff instead of marshmallows; I used most of a 13 ounce jar.  Last thing, I baked my cake for 25 minutes instead of 30 minutes to help achieve the muddy quality I was looking for.

019

The cake came out of the oven fine.  I poked holes across the top of the cake with a toothpick to prep it for the creme.  Spreading the marshmallow creme was a challenge, so I plopped it on the top of the cake and covered the whole thing with aluminum foil to let the creme melt a little.

023

That took a while, but it worked.  The creme spread so nicely that I decided to add a little extra.  Wallah!

024

Then, I sprinkled the pecans on the top.

025

The warm icing went over all of that, and then the aluminum foil went back over the whole thing to rest.  I noticed the creme poofing a little, but I thought that would be a good idea to keep the whole thing warm and gooey.

028

Looking back, I don’t think I should have done that.  My warm and gooey cake looked more like a hot mess than a chocolate cake.  The warm cake and warm icing turned the topping into a mesh of marshmallow, chocolate icing, pecans.  It didn’t look too much like the mud I was looking for.  Mississippi Slosh Cake, anyone?

032

Regardless, it tasted amazing.  It wasn’t like my momma’s cake; I didn’t taste it and say, “Mmmm…childhood,” or anything like that.  It was amazing, though.  It was warm and gooey and good.  The recipe, however messed up it is, is a keeper.

033

Snow days are the greatest.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

My snow days involve cooking, too. This morning I watched Bobby Flay challenge someone to a lasagna throwdown so . . . making lasagna this afternoon. Also watched Clare Robinson stuff some porkchops so that’s next on the list. I hope you had a glass of milk to go with your chocolately deliciousness!

Comment by elizabeth3

Oh, I did have a tall glass of milk. It was delish. I bet lasagna was good too. This is good lasagna weather. Do you want me to save you a piece of cake?

Comment by The Opinionated Foodie




Leave a Reply

