The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


The Sandwich King’s BLD Sandwich

001
It took me months to make this one. The short ribs in this BLD are not an every day thing around here, and they may not be an every day thing anywhere for all I know.
003
All I know is that I saw the episode where Jeff Mauro makes this sandwich, and I had to try it, but the short ribs were dang hard to find.
005
I tried this recipe once with pork ribs. It was good, but by the reviews I read about this sandwich, I knew it could be better.
007
One day at Sam’s while I was perusing the meat, I found them-beef short ribs. I wanted to shout, “Look! I found them! Beef short ribs!” I restrained myself, believe it or not.
009
It was exciting, though.
010
So I bought them up and brought them home. I followed Mauro’s recipe almost exactly, but I still had to add some beef broth during the cooking since I thought they looked a little dry. I never did get my gravy thick like his, I didn’t have any horseradish mayo, and I thought that the meat tasted a little too bayleafy.
012
Still, with an egg on top on a toasted bun, it was the best sandwich ever.
013
Ever.
014
I can only hope that it doesn’t take me another series of months to taste this sandwich again. It was too, too good.
016
017
Thanks, Sandwich King.
018


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment