The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Lambert’s-Sikeston, Missouri

For pigging out, there is no comparison to Lambert’s. The fixings, the portions, the extras, the pass-arounds. One can get full and then some. As a matter of fact, Lambert’s was named “The Number One Place to Pig Out” by Food Network, so that is not just my opinion.

I, however, am not a fan of the throwing of the rolls. I think I was scarred by the thrown rolls experience when I was in high school. We always stop to eat there while on our way to St. Louis, and this particular time was one of my first of many stops. I had caught one roll, but little did I know I was supposed to catch another one.

It hit me in the stomach. Ironic, I say.

The thought of hot dough hitting me has been a fear of mine since, and I haven’t attempted to catch a roll since that fateful day.

Tragic.

We still stop by there every time we pass through that part of Missouri as well as once in Foley, Alabama.

It may be scary, but it is just plain good.
021

My favorite pass around is the fried okra. It is never bad.
022
I almost always order the chicken wings. However, who could eat all that food? I try, but a girl has her limits.
023
My favorite, favorite thing around this town is the greens. Good grief, they are sooo good. I don’t know why they are so special (it probably has something to do with something that is terribly unhealthy) but they are dang good.

Lambert’s is a favorite. Delish.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

all the fried food looks super good

Comment by Michelle

Oh, it is! Worth the trip and the calories….

Comment by The Opinionated Foodie

will aim to try it one day… have not been to missouri yet.

Comment by Michelle




Leave a Reply

