The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


I Did It! Operation: ShakeDown

So, who drank all twenty-five milkshakes from Sonic this summer?

This girl! Whoop! Whoop!

019

I consider it a feat, and something that I am very proud of. I considered making a t-shirt, but really, I don’t want to brag.

Not too much, at least.

It was great fun to eat all 25, and not just because they are delicious. Several times this summer, we would be lazing around the house doing nothing important. But, come 8:00 when the milkshakes switched to half price, we were in the car and off to Sonic to get whatever milkshake was next on the list of 25. The kiddos enjoyed helping me out, keeping track of the milkshakes, and getting a treat for themselves, and I think we grown-ups enjoyed the drive and the time together.

And, of course, the 25 milkshakes.

The most often asked question about this little experiment is which one was the best. The answer, in my opinion, is pineapple followed closely by cherry cheesecake tied with any of the milkshakes with peanut butter.

My least favorite was the chocolate cream pie that was an overdose of coconut. Blech and blech.

I even liked the peanut butter bacon, which I saved for the last one. It was like eating a Butterfinger candy bar, except that it was cold and you had to chew a lot more. It wasn’t gross at all as most people would think.

I mean, it’s bacon, for Pete’s sake. Wrap bacon around road kill, and most people would chow down. Myself included.

I am kinda sad my milkshake journey has come to an end. I have already started on some repeat favorites, but I am going to resist redoing all 25 as someone suggested I try to do.

I will go ahead, though, and look forward to next summer. Bring on the milkshake challenge, Sonic!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

