The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


The Cheese Stands Alone: Making Homemade Mozzarella

Once upon a time, there was a girl who thought she could cook. That girl had taken a cooking class once about the finer points of cheese and how one would make cheese. So, the girl, thinking she could do such, ordered a cheese kit from Amazon.

Isn’t that how all great stories start?

003So, my cheesemaking kit came in the neatest little package with the happiest little cows on it. Happy cows are a great sign, I always say.

When it came time to make the cheese, I followed the directions pretty easily.
005
It wasn’t hard at all-more like chemistry than cooking. I just added some things and stirred and such.
006
Everything went well until I got to the stretching phase of the cheese making. I am not sure what went wrong, but my cheese was not stretchy and smooth. It was more gloppy and awkward.
007
Still, it was yummy beyond words. When I cut the cheese (he he!), it was warm, salty, and chewy all in a good way. I loved it. It took a whole gallon of milk to make it, which is a sacrifice for us. Still, it was great.
008
I was proud of myself for making cheese even if it wasn’t perfect.
009
I just love happy endings….

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

