The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Take Two: The Back Porch-Destin, Florida

So, we have driven what seems like the equivalent of the Lewis and Clark Expedition, and we are back in our beloved Destin, Florida. Land of sunny skies, white sand, and awesome restaurants.

After driving several days and enduring hours in the car, we made it. First stop-to eat!

My policy on vacation is no Mexican food, no restaurants that we have back home, no places that offer a coupon via brochure, and no cheesey chains.

Fudpuckers? Hooters? Harry T’s? Um, no.
032
We went to The Back Porch for our first meal, and we walked right in, took a table outside, and ordered.
022
We had eaten at The Back Porch before. Just like last time, it was fabulous.
026
We started with the oysters. Fresh and delicious.
027

028
029
I had the grilled mahi-mahi with the pineapple rice and lemon-caper beurre blanc sauce. It was divine. The fish and the sauce were wonderful together, and I was glad I got the sauce on the side as it was a little runny. I ate the whole thing even though I told myself that the sauce was full of butter and was horrible for me.

I loved it still.
030
Mr. Opinionated got the fried grouper sandwich-his favorite beach food. Miss Helper got fried shrimp, and Mr. Picky began his culinary tour of the gulf with chicken tenders.

We were a little disappointed that we didn’t see any of the cats, and the trash on the side of the restaurant from the restaurant was gross. The Smell was still there too. Even with all these flaws in our experience, The Back Porch alone was worth the drive. But, I can’t stop here. We are looking forward to more food and fun.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] cilantro cream sauce with jasmine rice and cucumber salad. It was very similar to what I ate at The Back Porch, and just as yummy. When I order something with jalapeno, I know that I always run the risk of […]

Pingback by Harbor Docks-Destin, Florida | The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It




Leave a Reply

