The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


An Open Letter to Sonic Re: Operation ShakeDown
June 3, 2013, 12:55 am
Filed under: Random Foodie Thoughts | Tags: , , , , , ,

044

Dear Sonic:

You clever, clever Sonic you. I underestimated your summer trickery.

You, with your colorful menu of 25 fabulous shakes. They tempt me. They call to me. They love me.
2013-05-23_15-21-01_623<
At the end of the school year, I was discussing summer plans with a group of teachers, and your 25 summer shakes came up. I mentioned that I thought it would be fun to try them all over the course of the summer. My friend said to me that it could not be done.

To heck, I say.

And so, I am in the process of trying each of your 25 summer shakes. I am presently on #7.

The half price after 8:00 is helping. Thanks for that.

I do wonder about punching that number of shakes from 25 to 30. How about it? What about a cherry shake? Or root beer? Peach? Bacon and maple? Come on, Sonic. Think outside the box.

I will be trying all of the original 25 between now and the end of the summer. So far, my favorite has been the pineapple. It was fresh and light.

The worst was the chocolate cream pie. Blech. My husband and I both ordered one. The first thought I had was why it smelled like suntan lotion. Then I tasted it. Yuck-coconut. It was unexpected to get a whollup of coconut-which I hate-in a chocolate shake. A friend of mine is a manager at Sonic, and he said I can order the cream pie shakes without the coconut syrup. If I am going to get through all 25, that will have to be the case.
2013-05-23_15-20-43_876
So, Sonic, thanks a bunch for adding a little something extra fun to this already great summer. Your shakes are great (except for the occasional surprise coconut), and sharing this experience with friends is even better. Now, I must go run on the treadmill to get off this extra shake weight.

Actually, who am I kidding. Long Island Medium is on!

Thanks, Sonic!
TOF

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

