The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


The Glass Castle

Summer book clubs are the best. The majority of us are teachers, and so the time we have to read and spend on food is increased and so is the fun.

Last night, we met to discuss The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls. We loved it. We talked about how the children survived and thrived and how the parents should have been killed in their sleep. It was a great book that stuck with us. I know I thought about the book often when I wasn’t reading it. That to me is the sign of a good book.

We also ate well, of course. Several of our husbands have recently accused us of using book club as a front for food and gossip.

Surely they jest.

We ate very well. We had a beautiful tomato tart that Amy made fresh out of Southern Living. We had rotel which hit the spot as well as Lisa’s famous Vidalia onion dip. My mom made Trisha Yearwood’s asparagus bundles that we an A+ hit. Delish.

I like for the food I make to reflect the book, but the food in the book was quite gross. I also couldn’t think of anything to reflect the glass theme except for Linzor cookies. Instead, I made a dish and brought a bought dish.

My bought dish was a blueberry and vanilla goat cheese log from Sam’s. Good grief, I tell ya, I could sent my family into the poor house at the cheese counter at Sam’s. This cheese was very yummy, but not for those who don’t like goat cheese. It was a little tart with a little sweet to boot.

My made dish was grilled cheese sandwiches with grilled onions. I made the onions early in the day by slicing three Vidalia onion and sauteing them in butter, salt, and pepper for about a half hour. They smelled so, so good.

If Yankee candle would only make a carmelized onion candle, wouldn’t life be so much better?

Later when it was time to assemble the sandwiches, which was like thirty minutes before I needed to leave because we decided to go fishing, I sliced a loaf of hoagie bread into rounds and toasted the slices in butter and olive oil on my griddle. I topped the bread slices with mozzarella, harvarti, and provolone cheese and then added the grilled onions.
002
They were simple and not too bad in the taste department either.
001
Summer is the best time for bookclub. The friends, the food, the gossip. Now, I can’t wait for the next meeting-for the book, of course.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

