The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Bride’s Biscuits

067In my attempt to make soul food over Christmas break, I found a neat little paperback cookbook with recipes in it from the family of Truman Capote. While I am not a fan of his, I am now a fan of the cookbook which has lots of stories to accompany the recipes, or receipts as they are also called in the book.

I have made several things from the book, and one of my favorites is this snazzy little biscuit recipe called Bride’s Biscuits.

066

The recipe is quite simple: 1/2 cup of softened butter, 1 cup of flour, and 3 ounces of softened cream cheese. These three things are blended together into a dough. Roll the dough out onto a floured surface and press out the biscuits. Bake at 350 for fifteen minutes.

119

I made my biscuits into tiny bite-size pieces. They were so small, as a matter of fact, that I used the top of a spice jar as my biscuit cutter. The smell was delicious-a cross between a short bread cookie and a biscuit. They were flat but fluffy on the inside.

I liked them, but if I were to make them again, I would make them a little bigger so they would have an even thicker and fluffy center.

This soul food stuff just might be worth it.

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

