The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Lonely Pie: The Pie Only I Will Eat
January 5, 2013, 4:26 pm
Filed under: Food I Make | Tags: , , , , , , ,
Before the oven...

Before the oven…

A friend on Facebook recently posted a recipe for a pie she was going to try.  Everyone commented on her post about how good the pie looked.  It did  look amazing and sounded good too.  Everyone likes a good pie, for goodness sakes.

006

Now, who wouldn’t love this pie?

I looked it up online.  The recipe sounded easy peasy, so I made it for a party at my aunt’s house where there would many good cooks with great food to match.  The pie was simple to make with not too many ingredients and easy instructions, and it turned out to be really pretty even though it looked like a balloon when it came out of the oven.

I was excited.  This pie was something new!  The pie made it to the party, it was set on the dessert buffet by the other delicious desserts,  but no one ate it.  I was shocked.  I was bummed and my self-esteem was shaken.  I was ruined! Was my pie not good enough for those people?

Apparently not.

I had a piece when I brought it home, and it was so good.  I thought that it would be too sweet with all that caramel sauce in the pie, but it was nice and evenly sweet with a nice crunch from the pecans.  I liked it a lot, but I had to throw away most of it.

There were just to many other yummy options at the party, I decided.

So, I made it again for New Year’s Day.  Same pie, same easy recipe, same balloon effect out of the oven.  I set it out beside my bread pudding.

Same results.

Bummer again.

I don’t get it.  It really was good and pretty and easy.  Oh well.

Will I make it again? Will the third time be the charm? Maybe.  It just all depends on whether or not I want to eat another pie alone.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

