The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Help! Our Family’s Progressive Dinner 2012
November 24, 2012, 10:51 pm
Filed under: Random Foodie Thoughts | Tags: , , , , ,

Are cupcakes soul food?

One of my favorite parts of the holidays is the food, of course. The lunches, the open houses, the parties-I love it all and the food that goes with it. I am already looking forward to and planning it, and my tree isn’t even up yet. The issue? For the twelth (eleventh? thirteenth?) or so year, our family will be driving around the country side for our annual progressive dinner.

Our progressive dinner is an impossible amount of fun. We eat too much and play Dirty Santa with amazing fairness. Well, most of the time. We get dressed up and drive around to each other’s houses to check out the festive decorations. It is a blast.

Over the years, the themes of these dinners have varied. I think we have done it all from Mexican to Italian; from Paula Deen to cheese; from breakfast to small foods.

This year, I am the dessert. Of the three courses that are divided among the three sisters, the appetizer is the easiest while dessert is a close second. Main course isn’t that hard, but the main course sister gets to decide on the theme. Since we have two family members who will be going on mission trips next year, the theme for this year is Soul Food.

Problem? I have not had much luck finding a Soul Food dessert. I like to go out on a limb for this meal and make something unusual. That’s the problem. I found egg pie, which is not something you see every day. The rest of the desserts I found? I have seen them every day. I have made some and eaten most. That is not an exciting outlook for our dessert.

Frankly, I had no idea that I was so full of soul.

So, friends, I ask for the help of you. Any ideas out there for a soul food dessert?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sweet potato pie?

Comment by mrszeg

Another thought…bread pudding

Comment by mrszeg




Leave a Reply

