The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Mouse Poop Pie
November 23, 2012, 1:57 pm
Filed under: Random Foodie Thoughts

The recipe:

1 cup of sugar

1 stick of butter, melted

2 eggs, beaten

1/2 cup of ap flour

2 T of cocoa

pinch of salt

1 t good vanilla

1/4 cup of chocolate chips

One pie shell, unbaked

Preheat the oven to 325. In a medium size bowl, beat the eggs and sugar with a hand mixer. When the color begins to lighten, add the butter and beat until well mixed. In another bowl that is not quite as big, mix the flour, cocoa, salt, and about half of the chocolate chips. Then, add the wet to the dry ingredients. Add the vanilla. Pour in the pie shell and bake for 30 minutes. Allow to cool and then shave some of the remaining chocolate chips over the top and place the rest on top of the pie in the middle.

Ready to go in the shell. It is the color of melted chocolate ice cream-so pretty.

Now, the story:

I made this pie for a lunch that I was not invited to. Not that I am bitter, but I guess I wasn’t right for the guest list. It was an exclusive soiree of only three invited guests and one party crasher. The hostess was my mother. The invited guests were her three granddaughters. The crasher was my daddy.

Neither my sisters nor I was invited. What do you think of that?

Even though my name was not on the guest list, Miss Helper (who was an attendee) and I made this pie for the dessert. It was easy to make, and it smelled very yummy. I didn’t get a bite since her ride to the par-tay was here as the pie was being pulled out of the oven. I did get a nice look at it, though, and it was a pretty pie.

The chocolate chips on top were an added bonus and the reason for the name. As I was trying to get Miss Helper to her fancy party, I shaved the chocolate chips over the top and plopped some in the middle, she watched and said, “That pie looks good. The chocolate chips look like mouse poop!”

And there you have it, the recipe and the story for the newly named Mouse Poop Pie. I hope you make it and love it whether you get invited to the meal or not.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

