The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Wait-What? I Am Supposed to be Writing a Food Blog?
November 3, 2012, 8:50 pm
Filed under: Food I Make, Random Foodie Thoughts | Tags: , , , ,

So, I have been in a funk lately.  And not the fun, “Brick House” kind of funk either.

If there is a prettier color than that of sweet potatoes, I do not know what it is.

 

I have been in a food funk.  I have not wanted to cook or really eat either.  Something that I love with all my heart has just not been important to me. A bowl of cold cereal has been supper more than once this week and has been about as adventurous in the kitchen as I have been.  My kitchen has been calling my name, but I just walk out of the room quickly and avoid making eye contact with my stove.

My poor family has been surviving on popcorn, Halloween candy, and drive-thru food.

And then there is this sad food blog.  Once upon a time, I would post twice a day.  Now, I may get around to twice a month.  So, so sad.

Woe is me.

I made myself make lunch today. I woke up, watched a little Sunny Anderson on Food Network, spent some time outside, and then schlepped to the kitchen. As I was struggling to put together a decent meal for my family for the first time in weeks, and as I enjoyed my pity party about having to cook, I gave myself a swift kick in the pants.

Because, as I was standing in my nice, cool kitchen cooking with my working stove while listening to my happy, safe family, there were plenty of people on the East Coast who don’t have what I have but did less than a week ago.

Sandy was devastating.  People are hurting.  Lives are changed forever.  Those people to me may be out of sight, but they should never be out of mind.

Country fried steak with brown gravy, greens, and mashed sweet potatoes.

I am so embarrassed at my selfishness.   I gathered myself up and put lunch on the table.  My pity party (which no one else attended-hmmmm) was over.

Before I ate, I said a prayer for those who are hurting in our country, and I said thanks that I had to fix lunch.

Days like this put things in perspective, and now my family can stop eating candy corn all the time.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

