The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


My Kind of Hobby: Eating for a Good Cause
October 9, 2012, 12:50 pm
Filed under: Random Foodie Thoughts | Tags: , , , , ,

Try not to be jealous, but my diet lately has consisted mainly of food from Sonic.

image

I am not eating there exclusively because I need to gain wait or because I have low cholesterol. I wish.

Actually, I am eating the tater tots, cheeseburgers, and breakfast burritos for a reason.

I am eating at Sonic because of their Limeades for Learning campaign to benefit public schools-my public school to be more specific. Every day for a month or so in the fall, Sonic lets school teachers like me participate in LforL to get equipment for classrooms. Classrooms get free stuff when people vote daily using their email addresses or special codes that are found on Sonic bags. It is easy.

My students and I have participated for four years. Over that time, we have received four iPods for our classroom, which is phenomenal. There is no way I would have been able to provide iPods otherwise. Through LforL, they were free.

We are trying to win again this year. Although it is not as easy to win as it once was, it is still fun to try.

And it is fun to eat all this food, even though it is mostly terrible for me. I won’t ask you to join me in eating Sonic daily, nor will I ask you to vote for my project. I just hope you take the time to go online at limeadesforlearning.com and vote for somebody’s project, because each of those projects represents a need of a kid in a classroom in America.

And, if you want to eat at Sonic for the code to help a kid out, I highly recommend the cheesecake bites.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

