The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


The Perks of Being a Teacher/Food Person

See this gorgeous cake?  This beautiful, amazing chocolate piece of art? Someone made this for me.

Unbelievable, huh?

I think so.

One of my students and I have a food bond, I guess you could say.  We talk food a lot, and think about food a lot, and eat food a lot.  At the end of the year last school year, she made me bacon.  While I was out of town recently, I found a bacon cookbook I thought she just had to have.  Then, she and her mom made me this cake.  It is as if we are playing a game of food tag.  I am enjoying it for sure.

The recipe for this amazing cake came from Pinterest.  I tried to navigate the vast world that is Pinterest to find the recipe, but I couldn’t.  It would be worth it.  The cake was soft and lightly chocolatey while the inside was creamy with a touch of Oreos.

I didn’t eat the whole thing by myself, but I could have.  I actually shared, believe it or not.  I gave her and her family a nice part for them to enjoy, I gave part to the staff in our school’s office, and then I shared with my own family.

Chocolate cake like this is one of the best parts of my job.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

