The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


How to Be Cool with Tomatoes

Book Club this month was the book How to Be Cool by Johanna Edwards.  The book was bleh and predicatable, but the food was-as usual-very, very good.

Do I attend book club just for the food?

Sometimes.

This month, we had a plethora of fresh garden tomato recipes, and they were a hit.

We had fresh salsa, mozzerella and tomato dip, tomato bread, tomato sandwiches, and of course, chicken salad.

I made steak and chicken quesidillas with guacamole with tomatoes and also spinach, tomato, and bacon dip.  My dishes were fine, but I had some other favorites.

One of my favorites was Amy’s broiled tomatoes.  I copied her dish by slicing two fresh tomatoes into quarter-inch slices.  In a glass casserole dish, I placed the tomatoes in a single layer and coated them with olive oil.  On top of that, I generously sprinkled salt, paper, basil, and Romano cheese.  I baked that in the oven at 350 for twenty minutes, and then I broiled them for two minutes.

They were delicious and so, so easy.  A few more minutes in the oven would not have hurt them, but I was happy the way they were.

A good use of the many, many tomatoes that are in the garden now.  Our tomatoey book club was fun, even if the book was not.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Looks delicious!

Comment by thecollectiveplate




Leave a Reply

