The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Wedding Cookies Go on Vacation

It is time for vacation with the family! All eighteen members of the bunch are traveling this week to the shore. Thank the good Lord above. That means sun, fun, sand, and food.

Lots and lots of food.

And I can not wait.

It all starts with Paula Deen’s Mexican Wedding cookies by special request from my sister.

I had forgotten that the last time we traveled to the great blue-two weddings and two babies (none of which were mine, thank goodness) ago-that I made Paula’s cookies for the trip. I used to make them all the time, but our last trip five years ago was the last time I made them.

What a slacker I am.

Luckily, she remembered and asked me to make them. It was one of the very last things I did before we left the house. They are super, super easy and not too sweet. I follow Paula’s recipe except that I use about a quarter cup more pecans than she does. Also, while the cookies are straight out of the oven, I put them in a large bowl with a cover and gently shake them with lots and lots of powdered sugar.

They are in the backseat right now headed with us for the water.

Delicious.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

