The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Trying New Things: My Attempt at Chile Bola
June 20, 2012, 4:30 pm
Filed under: Food I Make | Tags: , , , ,

My family and I love Mexican food. It is one type of food (in addition to pizza) all four of us can eat, and we will all walk away full and happy.

We like it, but most of us aren’t very adventurous about it.

Mr. Opinionated gets the same chicken dish every time.  Miss Helper gets a taco every time.  Mr. Picky gets a bowl of cheese dip every time.

And they eat the whole thing. I am not complaining at all.  I like that they all have a go-to. I, however, don’t.

I am never disappointed, but I don’t have that same ole thing I get every time. It makes me feel like a Mexican food outcast.

I go through cycles of favorites. I eat the carne asada tacos a lot. I also like the fish, salads, and the nachos. I adore the pico and the guacamole. Maybe my problem is that I like too much.

Lately, my dish of choice is the chile bola.  I have no idea what Chile Bola means, but I know I like it.

20120619-142352.jpg
I decided to try to make it at home. I washed, topped, and cut out the seeds and ribs of four green peppers. Then, I browned a pound of ground beef that I seasoned with taco seasoning and a whole chopped onion.

I stuffed the peppers with the meat, placed them in a square casserole dish, and baked them for thirty-five minutes.  I took them out of the oven, and I topped that with store-bought white Mexican cheese dip-that stuff has sustained Mr. Picky for all these years.   In my own twist, I also topped all that with crushed tortilla chips.  On top of all that went a handful of shredded Cheddar and pepper jack cheese.

The peppers and stuff went back in the oven for ten more minutes.

When the peppers were done, I topped them with fresh tomatoes and slices of avocado.

I loved it, and I was quite pleased with myself.  My favorite part was the chips which stayed crunchy and made a nice scooper for the rest of the good stuff.

Unfortunately, no one else in my family really wanted to branch out and try it.  They don’t see the need to try new things like this when they already have favorites.

Sigh.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

