The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Me and Trisha Have a Good Thing Going: Strawberry Cake

So, I thought I had something special.

Sigh.

About three years ago, a book club friend of mine made a strawberry cake that my daddy just loved. She was nice enough to share the recipe with me.

As I have told you before, I don’t share my best recipes. I am a recipe snob.

Luckily, she is a nicer person that I am, and I have made her strawberry cake many times since. Once, I even won “Best Tasting Cake” at a dessert contest at church.Not to brag, but it was a shining moment for me. I hope that someday that victory will be listed in my obituary.

Seriously.

I have also made it several times for work where colleagues have asked for a copy of the recipe.

Um. No.

This strawberry cake recipe was one to save and not share. I can almost make it from memory. It is easy and yummy.

20120612-131056.jpg

The last strawberry cake I made (other than the one I burned the other day)  for Mother’s Day 2012.

So imagine my surprise when I was looking through my brand new cookbook by one of my new favorites, Trisha Yearwood, and I came across her strawberry cake which is almost exactly like my/my friend’s strawberry cake.

Drats.

Oh, well. I guess the moral of the story is that I can’t hoard all the recipes.  I must learn to share.

However, I am a slow learner.

Trisha’s cake is called “Lizzie’s Strawberry Cake.”   Mine is called “I Stole This Recipe and Thought It Was Unique.”

I will tell you this: in the recipe I use, the cake has a whole cup of oil instead of 2/3 of a cup. The best strawberries, in my opinion, are the frozen and sliced kind instead of fresh.  The frozen strawberries are so much sweeter, and a small container of them will make two cakes.   Also, this cake is better when made the day before it will be served and stored in the refrigerator overnight.  It is best as a sheet cake so the icing doesn’t run, but I have layered it plenty of times and it has been fine.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] year, I made my strawberry cake and Trisha’s key lime cake. The key lime went for $55, and the strawberry went for $50. The […]

Pingback by A Mother’s Day Mess: The Pioneer Woman’s Coffee Cream Cake | The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It




Leave a Reply

