The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Mr. Opinionated’s Birthday Cake
May 30, 2012, 10:39 pm
Filed under: Food I Make | Tags: , , , , , ,

20120530-172312.jpg

So, the hubby had a birthday recently. The actual day was on a busy Sunday, so on the following Monday, Miss Helper and I decided to make him a special meal. While he was out of the house for a while, we whipped up a meal to remember that included this cake.

The recipe was inspired by a salted caramel milkshake that I had that was very good. This cake was good too, but it could use some improving.

To make this birthday cake, I made a Duncan Hines Butter Golden Recipe cake to the package directions. While it was still warm, I poked holes in it and poured a whole jar of caramel sauce from the ice cream section all over the top. I then set it aside to soak all that caramel goodness up.

Meanwhile, I melted two tablespoons of butter. To that, I added one cup of peanuts. I tossed the butter with the peanuts and salted them with kosher salt very generously. I roasted the peanuts in the oven for five minutes.

When the peanuts we ready, I poured them over the cake and added a sprinkling of salt over the top.

Getting ahead of ourselves, we then decided to put the candles in so the cake would be ready when he walked in the door. Unfortunately, the cake was still quite warm. The candles drooped on the cake and looked quite sad. He was still surprised, though.

It’s the thought that counts, right?

The cake was moist and salty but sweet. The peanuts were a good crunch. I think it could be improved with a layer of whipped cream or maybe some ice cream on the side.

20120530-173617.jpg

Maybe we can try that for the next birthday.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

