The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Homemade Onion Rings
May 30, 2012, 10:58 pm
Filed under: Food I Make | Tags: , ,

For some reason, I decided that I should make onion rings at home.

Crazier things have happened.

But for some reason, I had a craving for onion rings and I wanted to try my own.

It wasn’t so bad.

I sliced three large yellow onions. I think I sliced them too thin, and I would try a sweet onion next time. I coated them in a mixture of one cup of flour, one cup of sparkling water, two tablespoons of hot sauce, and two tablespoons of sugar. I covered the coated onions and placed them in the refrigerator. Then I went to a softball game.

I don’t think that’s a necessity, though.

When we returned from the game-they lost-I tried to coat the onion rings in panko. It was a hot mess, but I could do better next time with a larger bowl for the panko. I also heated my oil way too hot. After several batches, I settled on 340 for three minutes.

20120530-175458.jpg

Miraculously,the onion rings were quite good. They were very crunchy but could have had a better onion to coating ratio if I had cut the onions thicker.

Now I know.

20120530-175654.jpg

I ate mine on my burger.

Craving? Gone.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

