The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Shrimp Sandwiches
April 16, 2012, 10:57 pm
Filed under: Food I Make, Food Made by Other Food Folks | Tags: , , , ,

Sunday lunch was actually a good one yesterday, but it was even better today. I made The Pioneer Woman’s spicy shrimp from her new cookbook.

My mom made it before I did, and she mentioned the best part was the dipping bread. I agree. We had some crusty rolls from the deli that I warmed in the oven, and they were delicious with the butter from the pan. Too bad the shrimp wasn’t that great.

I followed the Pioneer Woman’s recipe, right down to the two sticks of butter. It was a lot of butter. Too much, to be exact. Next time I would cut it down to one if not even less. The shrimp just swam in the butter, and it lacked a lot of flavor.

We ate all the bread, but we had leftover shrimp. No prob.

Tonight, I shelled all the shrimp. I tossed them very lightly in flour seasoned with Old Bay and let them rest. Then, I fried them lightly for a few minutes just to brown the flour. I split the rolls and buttered them with the original pan butter. I toasted the rolls for just a few minutes, and then I loaded the shrimp on top with a little salt to boot.

Now, that was much better. The toast was crunchy, buttery, and garlicky and so was the shrimp. Much, much better.

20120416-180101.jpg

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

