The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Homemade BBQ Sauce
April 10, 2012, 2:15 am
Filed under: Food I Make, Random Foodie Thoughts | Tags: , , , , , ,

Several years ago, I found a recipe for a homemade bar-b-que sauce that looked interesting.  It had everything under the sun in it, and I just so happened to have that much stuff in the pantry.

Lucky me. 

I have been making my own version of  this sauce ever since-especially during grilling season.  I only slather it on chicken, but I am sure it would be great on other things like a burger or a pork chop. It just does the best job on chicken on the grill.

The ingredients are 1 large onion diced, 1 1/2 cups of Hunt’s ketchup, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup of honey, 1 T liquid smoke, 1 T molasses, 1 T spicy brown mustard, 1/2 T white wine vinegar, 1 T worchesshire, 1 t ceyenne, 2 smashed cloves of garlic, 1 T chopped pickled jalepeno, 1 T soy sauce, salt, and pepper.

To make the sauce, all you do is combine everything in a saucepan on medium for about thirty minutes.  If it boils, turn it down to simmer.  This recipe could easily be doubled or tripled, but I only make enough for one meal at a time. 

This still makes plenty, though. We had some leftovers that I took to work the next day and had enough to share.  I offered my extra piece to a friend who declined my offer at first. When I told her that I made it from scratch, she said, “You can do that? I’ve never heard of such. I’ll try it.”

I think she enjoyed it. The proof was that she brought me back my plate-clean and washed-and told me I could make that chicken again anytime I liked.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

