The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Swiss Steak with Asparagus and Gouda
March 11, 2012, 5:44 pm
Filed under: Food I Make | Tags: , , , , , ,

While I was recently grocery shopping, I checked out the “Reduced for Quick Sale” area of the meat case. Usually, the only meat found there would be some pre-formed burger meat that might be a little gray or weird chicken parts that I am totally unfamiliar with.

But this was my lucky day.

I found lots of still red/pink meat including some interesting Swiss steak.

Is there anything better than a good deal on still pink meat? I think not.

After I made it home with the Swiss steak, I googled recipes for it. It was too cool to grill, and the best non-grilling recipe I found was Paula Deen’s. Since I gave up Paula for Lent and in protest of her diabetic schemes, I decided to make it up as I went along.

It turned out okay. Here are the directions:

On a baking sheet or roasting pan, generously rub the steak with olive oil and sprinkle with salt. Broil on high for five minutes on each side. Allow to rest and then slice thinly.

Meanwhile, microwave a bag of frozen asparagus for five minutes. Allow to rest.

Meanwhile again, in a saucepan, make a roux of two tablespoons of flour with two tablespoons of butter. When combined well and slightly brown, slowly pour in one cup of milk. Whisk as you pour. Turn up the heat and thicken. Add to that three or more ounces of gouda. I crumbled/chopped mine before I added it in. Stir, baby, stir. Season with salt, pepper, and paprika.

When you are ready to plate, layer the steak, the asparagus, and the gouda gravy. Season with extra pepper. Beautiful.

This is not my plate, by the way. Mine had way more asparagus.

I think that Swiss steak was nice here, but another variety of steak on sale would have been nice too. I guess it all depends of what you are in the mood for and how early you get to the meat department on sale day.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Nothing beats a good roux sauce! I love the combination here with the asparagus.

Comment by Corina

I hope you try it, and that it works out for you! I liked it a lot. If nothing else, it looks really complicated and fancy.

Comment by The Opinionated Foodie




Leave a Reply

