The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Meat Eaters Unite!
March 10, 2012, 2:12 pm
Filed under: Food I Make, Random Foodie Thoughts | Tags: , , , ,

I was a vegetarian once.  I know, shocking.

It was in those weird, confusing, sweaty palm days.  High school, in other words. My vegetarian staged lasted for around two years. I ate a little chicken and fish, so I guess I wasn’t a true vegetarian.  I survived on chips, bread, vegetables, and lots of salads.  I did not eat, however, any red meat or pork of any kind.

Why did I not eat bacon? or burgers? or steak?

Excellent questions. Yet, I don’t remember.

I do remember the downfall of my vegetarianism.  It started at the drive-thru of McDonalds and ended with a messy Big Mac and me in a secluded, dark Wal-Mart parking lot. 

Not a proud moment for me, but it leads me to today.  Now, I am a proud meat eater.

And burgers are still wonderful and fabulous.  Last night, I patted out four big patties and salted them generously.  Then, I seared them in a skillet with butter and finished them in the oven.

I topped mine with an almost embarrassing amount of blue cheese.  Almost embarrassing but not quite.

Today, I took a second burger with blue cheese to work for lunch. It was divine, and I made lots of people jealous. Food jealousy is fun. Well, for food dorks at least.

I am so thankful for two things-whoever invented the burger and the fact that I am not stuck eating broccoli all the time. 

Me? A vegetarian? What was I thinking?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That’s a good looking burger.

Comment by Karen

Thanks! It was. I am ready for the weather to warm up so we can grill our burgers outside.

Comment by The Opinionated Foodie

It snowed today so I totally agree.

Comment by Karen




Leave a Reply

