The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Add Another Recipe to the List-Cannoli

I love, love, love to experiment with food in the kitchen. I will try anything once. Or twice.

I tried homemade pasta, and it was a huge success.  I have made pasta for parties and plain weeknights.  I even make it for Mr. Picky, and even he loves the homemade pasta.

There are somethings that I am still trying to get right. My fried chicken is still a little bleh. I haven’t tried to make rice crispie treats since the one time I made them 1999 when I made a horrible mess.  My gravy is decent-sometimes.  Duck is another food that I may get the chance to perfect.

There are some things that I will never try again-liver pate being numero uno.  It was bad. Way bad.

And then there are dishes that I am chicken to try. I have everything that it takes to make sushi, and I have had the equipment I need since November when my sister gave it to me for my birthday. Yet, I am scared for some reason.  I know that I am not talented enough to do it right the first time.

I am adding this dish to the chicken list-cannoli.  I love, love a good cannoli.  One of my favorite places where I have eaten a cannoli was at Epcot.  It was freezing cold, and the whole family was tired and hungry. We had been walking forever, and the place where we wanted to eat was booked up.  So, we found a little Italian restaurant where we ate pizza and canollis outside in the freezing cold.  Even though it was not what we wanted, and even though it was free-zing, it was still a fantastic meal.  The canollis were outstanding.

For Miss Picky’s birthday last week, we ate at our local Italian place, and I had a coupon for a free dessert.  I ordered a canolli to go, and I saved it for lunch the next day. Even though I wasn’t in a place half as fun as Epcot, it was still as fantastic a canolli as the one I ate at Disney.

Delish.

So, someday I hope to add cannoli to the list of foods I have tried and succeeded at making.  They are the best of many worlds: sweet, crunchy, creamy, and fancy. I have researched a few recipes, and now all I have to do is get the courage up to make them.

I just hope this isn’t a repeat of the pate. Yikes.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

