The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


The Untitled Recipe
February 20, 2012, 9:06 pm
Filed under: Food I Make | Tags: , , ,

So, I wanted to try some thing new.

That sometimes means trouble.

It is a fifty-fifty shot when I step in the kitchen with the idea to try something new. Sometimes, I am too stubborn to go by a recipe, yet I am too excited to give up. It could be good or not.

What happened on this occasion was an attempt at a cross between a lasagna and a stuffed pizza or calzone.

Observe….

I browned a pound of ground beef. To that, I added a jar of spaghetti sauce and a diced onion and let it simmer for a while. Then, following my trusty lasagna recipe which must happens to be on the back of the box of noodles, I mixed ricotta, an egg, parmesan cheese, and some parsley.

Meanwhile, I laid half of a canned pizza crust on a cookie sheet, which I should have coated with corn meal but I forgot. I baked the pizza crust for about five minutes. Then, I layered the meat and cheese mixtures and topped it all off with shredded mozzarella and more parm that was diced from a block. To top the whole thing, I covered it with the remaining half of the pizza crust.

20120301-180242.jpg
I baked the whole thing at 350 for 25 minutes.

20120301-180743.jpg
What this experiment resulted in was a warm, meaty mess of a dish, but one that was yummy and worth trying again.

20120301-180847.jpg
I will definitely try this again someday. Next time, I would like it to be a little cheesier and a little easier to handle. Also, I think it needs to be thinner.

20120301-192424.jpg
It was good. An experiment worth trying again, for sure.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment