The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


A Tribute: Saturday Morning Breakfast
February 4, 2012, 3:40 pm
Filed under: Random Foodie Thoughts | Tags: , , ,


During the week, breakfast is a quick meal in the car. It has been that way for as long as I have been driving.

Coffee with toast, pastries, peanut butter sandwiches, crackers, whatever. Monday through Friday, breakfast is behind the wheel to save time and maybe a little sanity.

My kids eat breakfast the same way. Mr. Picky eats a pack of orange crackers with orange cheese every day. Miss Helper has whatever I am having, but sometimes she has waffles, pancakes, or on adventurous days, cereal with milk.

It is the most important meal of the day, but it is also the least thought about and the quickest.

Except for Saturday.

God bless Saturdays. I actually cook breakfast on Saturdays, and no one is in a moving vehicle. I get to take my time and maybe even use a recipe. I take my coffee in a real mug instead of a travel contraption, and we all eat off a plate.

Pancakes made with sour cream and chocolate chips, chocolate gravy with fresh biscuits, omelets, eggs in any variety-I love it.

Thank goodness for Saturday mornings.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

