The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Roasted Brussel Sprouts: Or, I Refuse to Quit Even When No One Else Even Tries

Welp, I have tried it again. One of my New Year’s resolutions was to get more vegetables into my family’s diet.

So far, not so good.

This time, I tried roasted Brussel sprouts. 

It was not the smartest choice on my part.

I coated my little cabbage-like morsels in olive oil, salt, and a dash of pepper. I rolled them on a lined cookie sheet, and roasted them at 350 for twenty minutes. I turned them several times to brown them evenly and sprinkled them again with salt when they came out of the oven.

When I plated them and put them on the table, no one jumped for joy.   I liked them.  I haven’t had Brussel sprouts since high school when they were served once all wet and slimey in the cafeteria. That was an unfortunate incident, but this time they were warm and not too cabbagey.  I liked the well-roasted parts the best.  My husband and Miss Helper tried one, but I was the only one who ate more than one bite.

I’ll keep trying though. I will find a vegetable that we will all like.

And I will probably be eating a lot of other vegetables by myself  in the process.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Good luck with your quest for vegetables!

Comment by Eggton

Thanks!

Comment by The Opinionated Foodie

Hey girl keep cooking those veggies little by little your family will try and even find something they like. I like to cut my sprouts in half, some of the leaves fall loose. The loose leaves taste so good like little fried flakes. I do the olive oil thing with Natures’ Season’s by Morton,(the Salt maker)and salt a pepper to! My hubby won’t eat em but my son loves them!

Comment by Michele Busch




Leave a Reply

