The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Super Bowl Recipe #2-Pico de Gallo

My new favorite condiment is pico. I used to hate it, but I guess that with age, my taste buds have changed. That and the fact that we eat at our favorite Mexican restaurant at least once a week, and I have found a wonderful steak dish that they serve with fresh pico.

I think that this would make a fine dish for a Super Bowl party because it is easy and somewhat healthy.

Healthy isn’t something that I worry about during the Super Bowl, or most any other time, but pico is also delicious so it all evens out.

The recipe:
Two ripe tomatoes, diced
One medium onion, diced. I like my tomatoes and onions chunky.
One clove of garlic, finely diced
One bunch of cilantro-I used 66 ounces to be exact. I striped the leaves and chopped them, but I left several leaves whole.
1 t salt
2 t lime juice
1 t red pepper flakes

Combine all the ingredients and chill. As it chills, stir several times to help incorporate the flavors.

Sometimes when mine looks a little thick, I add a little water. I like a sloshy pico.

Serve along side the other chips and dips you have.

Fresh and delicious.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

