The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


It’s Super Bowl Week 2012

My first Super Bowl hosting attempt was circa 1991. I was in high school. I invited around twenty kids to my parents’ house to watch the big game. I took my role as hostess very seriously. I made them stand for the National Anthem and then fed them throughout the whole game.

We watched every play-some more seriously than others. Of course, all was quiet for the commercials.

My friends came early and stayed late. We had a blast and talked about it all the next day at school.

Good times. Good times…

Back in the day, I made taco dip, a cheese ball, brownies stuffed with caramel sauce, and a new concoction called Rotel. I made enough food for an army, but my parents paid for it so I didn’t mind.

Times have changed quite a bit. I have two kids, a husband, and I have to buy my own groceries and do my own dishes. We don’t make it to many parties, and I don’t expect a crowd this Sunday night. Still, the Super Bowl is an honored tradition that must be lauded.

And, of course, the food is awesome.

This week, it will be my goal to share with you some new and old recipes fit for any big game party. Even if you are not going to a party or even watching the big game, I hope you enjoy.

Go Giants!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

