The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Sunday Lunch in the South

image

I don’t do fancy, elaborate Sunday lunches. I wish I could.

I wish I had the ability to be organized enough to get together a traditional Southern after-church lunch of a meat and three veggies.  Like a roast or fried chicken with a side casserole of some sort. A dish of corn or green beans swimming in butter or bacon grease. All served shortly after noon with homemade rolls or biscuits and sweet tea. That would be divine.

But, I just can’t get it together.

For example, lunch today was frozen fries and a sandwich of leftover homemade meatballs. The sandwich rolls, sauce, and cheese were all bought after church today.

Growing up, somehow my mom could make a Sunday lunch to remember happen.  I can not recall having leftovers or sandwiches for Sunday lunch when she was cooking.

I am a Southern Sunday lunch failure.

Yet, I guess it really doesn’t matter as long as we are all at the table and warm and fed.

I would like the butter or bacon grease part, though.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

