The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


At Least the Fire Department Didn’t Show Up: Broiled Tomatoes

Don’t you just love it when something you’ve made a million times turns out wrong?

I can make this recipe with my eyes closed.  I have done it a million times.  You take canned tomatoes, drain them, cover them with salt, pepper, butter, and shaved or grated Parmesan cheese.  Then, you broil it for about ten minutes.

Or, you burn them halfway to Kingdon Come like I did.  People were on their way to my house to eat, of course. At least the place wasn’t full of smoke, and it didn’t smell too bad.  I think. What to do? 

Hide the evidence with extra cheese, of course.  Worked like a charm. 

If only I could fix bad hair days this easily.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Excellent to see a fail posted. Don’t know I would be that brave.

Comment by Conor Bofin

Smart 😉

Comment by F.

[…] those of you who read this random blog know that I choke under pressure. If people are coming over or the recipe may make money for a charity, I will almost always burn […]

Pingback by “Don’t Worry. The House Isn’t on Fire. Mommy’s Just Cooking Again.” « The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It




Leave a Reply

