The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


To Turkey or Not to Turkey?
November 9, 2011, 12:10 pm
Filed under: Random Thoughts | Tags: , ,

I am thinking about making my first ever Thanksgiving meal.  It would be just for four people, and it wouldn’t be the actual Turkey Day dinner for our family, but I want to see if I can do it.  I want to see if I could make the dinner for the big day. 

I think I may try.

I have never, ever even had to contribute anything to a Thanksgiving meal.  Before I was married, my family had Thanksgiving dinner at my sister’s house.  I never made anything for the big day because I didn’t have a kitchen.  I just showed up and ate.

Now that I am married with a family, we travel across the state to my husband’s family’s home to celebrate.  We have made this journey for sixteen years.  It is an experience every Thanksgiving.  The cooks on that side of the family do not use real butter or anything with any sort of fat in it.  They also avoid salt.  And real bacon.  And cheese.  Yum.

I guess I have a touch of turkey-preparation envy. 

I know it is a stressful meal.  I know it is expensive and time-consuming.  I just want to see if I can make it happen.  Can I make a savory, warm, and juicy turkey? Can I prepare a delicious and flavorful dressing?  What about gravy? Good grief, the gravy.  What can I do with cranberries? What kind of pie? I just don’t know. 

But, I think I will give it a try.  Just for the four of us.  It may be a disaster.  It may the best turkey dinner we have all year.  I just have to give it a shot. 

 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

If you don’t make the turkey, you’ll be missing out on all those wonderful tales about how you screwed up your first turkey!

Comment by t




Leave a Reply

