The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Every Meal a Memory: Taco Soup

I hope you have had this soup a million times.  I hope it is committed to your memory.  I hope you can make it with your hands closed and both eyes tied behind your back.

I hope all of that because that would mean that you get to eat this soup like we do-often but in a good way. 

Taco soup is popular around this part of the country.  It is a go-to soup for weather like we have been having lately-cool enough for a soup that warms you right up.  It is also easy and hearty.  We eat it a lot.

I love this recipe, but I must admit that it isn’t really mine.  It belongs to my momma (pronounce that slowly and with a bit of a cadence-my momm-maah).  She makes this soup every Christmas Eve for supper.  We file in her house at random times throughout the night, and she has this soup on the stove for us to dip from as we get hungry.

It’s a favorite.  Try it and make it one of yours too. 

Here goes her recipe with my adjustments:

2 pounds ground beef
1 large onion, chopped
1 bell pepper, chopped-I didn’t have one, so I left this out.
1 envelope taco seasoning
1 envelope-quart size-of Ranch dressing mix
2 regular cans of crushed tomatoes.  I used a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes. Do not drain.
1 can of ro-tel.  I left this out too.  Do not drain if you want it spicy.
 1 can of pinto beans-I used butter beans. Drain ‘em.
2 cans of whole kernel corn.  Do not drain.
1 T of sugar
Salt and pepper to season

 In a large soup pot, brown the ground beef, onion, and bell pepper.  Drain if you want. (I didn’t.)  Add everything else to the pot, warm a little, and then take a little taste.  Season and add a little water as needed. I added half a can of water.   Allow to simmer for at least thirty minutes; the longer, the better.  I let my roll for an hour.  Season again if you need to. 

 I like my taco soup with a large dollop of sour cream and homemade tortilla chips.  Shredded cheese also goes well on top. 

 Try it; you’ll like it.  You have my word.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

