The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Out of Desperation Come Meals Like This: Hamburger Casserole

How boring is hamburger casserole? I mean, really.  It is so predictable and sometimes lame.  I bad hamburger casserole is only a step above a box of Hamburger Helper.  I don’t mean to knock the Hamburger Helper or anything; it got me through four years of college.  But, it is a little short on imagination. 

One night recently, my options for dinner were slim.  I needed to go to the store, but I didn’t have the chance to go.  I was stuck making do with only what I had, and that wasn’t much.

Hamburger casserole to rescue!

The recipe:

One pound of hamburger
One onion, diced
One small jar of mushrooms
One jar of good marinara
One round of fresh Mozzarella, sliced thick
One tube of refrigerated crescent rolls

 Preheat the oven to 350.  In a large skillet, brown your hamburger meat and your onion at the same time.  I like to leave the hamburger just a little pink.  Drain the meat if you wish, but I like to drain only so much.  The juice is where the flavor is.  Anyway, add your mushrooms and allow them to warm through. 

 Add the marinara to the meat mixture.  Heat until the sauce bubbles for five minutes. 

 In a square baking dish, line the bottom of the dish with half of the crescent rolls.  Prebake the crescent rolls for five minutes to avoid a soggy hamburger casserole bottom.  When time is up, remove from the oven and layer your meat and sauce mixture on top.  On top of that, layer the thick cuts of mozzarella.  This cheese layer is what separates this casserole for the Helper types.  The top layer is the rest of the crescent rolls. 

 Bake the whole shebang at 350 for twenty minutes.   Add a little Parm to each helping as your dish it out. 

 If this tastes anything like Hamburger Helper, please let me know, and I will send you a refund.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

