The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Mrs. Opinionated’s Home for Peculiar Food

Tonight is bookclub.  Yes!  I will get to stuff myself silly with awesome food and visit with some of my favorite people in the world. 

And discuss a great book as well.

This month, we read Ransom Rigg’s book Miss Perigrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.  Since it is October, we wanted to read something on the scary side. 

And, in keeping with the theme of the book, we will be dining on peculiar/scary food as well.  We get to have fun with this every October.  One year, we had peanut butter eyeballs and garlic buttered toast.  Another, we had garlic chicken on a mirrored platter.  Last year, one of us baked a whole pumpkin and made a salad to go inside. 

This year, though, ups the stakes a little since our dishes will be scary and peculiar.  I had picked out an avocado cheesecake to make, but I didn’t have any avocados.  I was too lazy to drive all the way to the store for them.  I scoured my pantry, and then scoured Google.  There, I found the recipe for me-

See that stringy stuff on the beaters? Sauerkraut. Mmmmm.

I have made a sauerkraut cake.  It has the normal stuff in it.  Along with all the flour, butter, sugar, and other regular cake ingredients, it also has half a cup of drained sauerkraut.  Yum.

Or at least we’ll see tonight. 

I can’t wait. 

Before the Icing but with the Kraut

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

