The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Chocolate Chip and Banana Coffee Cake

One morning while I was waiting on someone to help me with some work at our house, I decided to be productive and make a coffee cake.  I am not really sure why we needed a coffee cake, but I decided anyway to make one. 

I knew when I made it that I would probably be the only one to eat it.  No one else in the house will touch coffee.  Even though there is no coffee in a coffee cake and I know that, they don’t.  So, I figured I might as well make it healthy and add a banana to go along with all the sugar, butter, and chocolate chips.  It all cancels out, right?

I found a variation of this coffee cake recipe in the book I keep close to the front of my cookbook shelf.  It is a blue recipe album that someone from my husband’s family gave me a long time ago.  In it, I collect random recipes from newspapers and magazines.  Some of the recipes I have made.  Some I will make someday.  Some I can’t remember why I cut them out much less which side of the paper I was looking at when I said, “Yum! I’ll make that.”

Anyway, I decided to get to it and bake. 

The recipe is in two parts:

½ c flour

½ c brown sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon sugar

6 T butter, softened

½ c almonds

½ c chocolate chips

 Combine all ingredients except the almonds in a large bowl and stir until crumbly.  Gently mix in the almonds and chocolate chips.  Try not to get distracted at this point like I did.  Set aside.

 2 c flour

4 t baking powder

1 t ground nutmeg (or less.  I really like nutmeg. If nothing else, just for the way it smells.)

½ t salt

1 stick of butter, softened plus one tablespoon for the pan

2/3 c sugar

2 eggs

1 t good vanilla

1 ripe banana, mashed

1/3 c milk or heavy cream. I didn’t have enough cream, so I topped off the 1/3 c with milk. 

 In a 9×9 baking pan, melt one tablespoon of butter as you preheat the oven to 350.  Remove when the butter has melted. 

 Combine your dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, nutmeg, and salt.  Set aside.

 With a mixer, cream the butter.  Add the sugar and mix until fluffy.  Add each egg separately and mix as you go.  Then, add the vanilla and banana.  Mix until well blended. 

 Now, here comes the messy part.  Gradually add the flour to the banana mixture.  Mix slowly as you want to eat it, not wear it.  As you add the flour mixture, gradually add the milk as well.  

Swirl around your melted butter in your baking pan.  Then, pour your batter on top.  Sprinkle the topping on top of all that.  Bake for 30-35 minutes. 

 Allow to cool and serve warm to people who will eat things with coffee in the name.  Or, just eat it all yourself.  I won’t tell anyone. 

 Hopefully, you will have a warm, delicious banana/chocolate chip/almond/semi-healthy coffee cake when you are done.  I got three out of four.  The guy I was waiting on showed up around the time I should have added my almonds, but I got distracted and saw them about thirty-five minutes later.  When I saw them on the counter, the timer on the oven had less than a minute left.  Sweet. 

 The coffee cake was still good and so moist and yummy, but I didn’t offer the helper guy any.  That’s what he gets for making me forget the almonds. 

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

