The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Rachael Ray’s Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate

This looked good in Rachael’s magazine, so I tried it. It was okay, but it lacked a touch of sweet. I adjusted it, and this is my variation:

4 T Dulce de leche-found in the Spanish foods aisle of the grocery
1 1/4 c milk-cream would be good too, but I didn’t think about it in time
2 T cocoa powder
2 T sugar
1/2 teaspoon Kosher salt
A block or two from a Hershey’s bar

Warm your ingredients except the Hershey’s in a small saucepot. Wisk. Raise the temperature to a low boil and keep your eye on it. Wisk some more. Keep wisking until the cocoa powder has smoothed out.

Pour into a large mug. Drop in your chocolate squares. Allow to cool or you will hurt yourself.

Take my word for it.

I can see sharing this with friends around a campfire. It is different. I like it.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

looks interesting , I recently posted salted caramel /chocolate dipped marshmallows sounds like a winter treat with a cup of your Hot Chocolate recipe.

Comment by Michele Busch

That’s sounds delish! I must try it out.

Comment by The Opinionated Foodie




Leave a Reply

