The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


A Little Campfire Love in a Brownie Pan: S’mores Brownies
September 25, 2011, 6:08 pm
Filed under: Food I Make | Tags: , , , , , ,

We are brownie lovers.  I have never met a bad brownie.  They are so gooey and good and chocolatey and gooey.  And Gooey.  Even Mr. Picky will eat a brownie. 

Recently, all I had was a box of plain brownie mix, and company was coming over.  I needed to impress.  I wanted to do something snazzy.  I experimented.    

I made the brownies as it calls for on the package.  Then, I broke apart a chocolate bar on top while the brownies were still warm.  Mmmm.  

That would have been good enough, but I never know when to stop.  On top of that, I layered marshmallows.  Finally, I crushed graham cracker crumbs and sprinkled them on top of everything else for a little S’more delight.  All that then went until the broiler for a few minutes too long.  Luckily, I like my marshmallows well done. 

Unfortunately, my guests apparently did not. 

Too bad for them.  They were so good, gooey, and chocolatey even if they weren’t pretty. 

And I do mean the brownies, not the guests.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

That looks brilliant and your guests are mad.

I remember once I cooked a huge roast dinner for a load of friends and I made the gravy nice and thick. It was utterly gorgeous but some of the ‘guests’ thought that the gravy ruined it all!

I was fuming.

Comment by Michael Cargill




Leave a Reply

