The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Eating Alone: The Dutch Baby
September 22, 2011, 6:01 pm
Filed under: Food I Make | Tags: , , , , ,

 I am the only person in my house who likes this recipe.  I can’t help it if everyone else is weird.  A Dutch Baby is a simple, almost custard-like pancake that poofs beautifully in the oven.  It is buttery and sweet.  I love it, so I make it often.

Just for myself.

2 T butter

½ c. milk

½ c. AP flour

¼ c. sugar

2 eggs

1 T butter softened

Pinch of nutmeg

Powdered sugar for dusting

Preheat oven to 425.

Melt the 2 tablespoons of butter in an oven proof 10 inch skillet.  Coat the skillet with the butter by swirling the butter around.

Wisk the milk, flour, sugar, eggs, and softened butter.  Pour into the skillet over medium and cook for one minute.

After a minute, place your skillet in the oven for twelve to fifteen minutes.  Check back often, because this pancake will poof up and look as if it might explode.  The kiddos will think it is cool even if they won’t eat it. 

Remove the pancake from the oven and sprinkle with the powdered sugar.  Slice like a pie and serve immediately.  You may choose to share yours. 

I have read that lemon and fresh berries make a nice topping, but I prefer to eat my Dutch Baby plain.  And alone. 

I think there is a country song about that.  If not, there should be.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

that is crazy, if a dutch baby was to be made in this home it would not have time to cool on a plate before it would be devoured! there is a place close to us called Pancake House they make them there and they tell you it will be 20 min. they take longer because they are worth the wait!

Comment by Michele Busch

They are delish. I love to make them on Saturdays for a weekend breakfast treat.

Comment by The Opinionated Foodie




Leave a Reply

