The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Cooking with Someone Else’s Granny: Southern Peach Cobbler with Mascarpone
September 5, 2011, 1:39 am
Filed under: Food I Make | Tags: , , , , , ,

This summer during prime peach season, my momma gave me fresh peaches sliced and sugared, because just like good Southern girl always does, she didn’t buy just a few peaches.  Oh no.  We don’t just buy a tomato or two; we big five bushels.  We don’t give away a watermelon; we give them away four at a time. We walk away from the neighbor’s garden with three Wal-Mart sacks of cucumbers.  No telling how many peaches she had. 

Small is not in our vocabulary when it comes to summer produce.

 

I had already been through my own supply of peaches when she gave me part of hers.   Mine were eaten in various concoctions, but they were all sliced and eaten pretty quickly.  I don’t save too many summer fruits and veggies.  I would rather eat three meals a day or more of fresh corn, okra, or peaches than to slug them out of the freezer all sad and cold in January.  That just isn’t right.

I had to do something with these peaches. 

In times like these, I turn to my cookbook cabinet.  This was a serious situation so I pushed past the Rachael Ray, Pioneer Woman, and Paula Deen fluff.  Rookies.  I needed experience.  I reached deep and pulled out one of my gems of the collection.

The church cookbook.

Yep, the cookbook full of recipes from women who have cooked every day for a hundred years, give or take.   Women who know how to feed a family on nothing and how to have a hot meal ready at noon on a Sunday after a morning full of church. 

I went to the index and found my junior high Sunday school teacher’s grandmother’s recipe for peach cobbler.  Bingo.  There was no way this could be bad.

The recipe:

1 stick of butter

1 c flour

1 c sugar

1 c milk

Peaches-I used the equivalent of three cans of sliced peaches

  In a 13 x 9 glass casserole, melt the butter in the oven for about five minutes while it preheats to 350.  Mix the sugar and flour then add the milk.  Pour the peaches in the casserole over the melted butter.

 Here is where I added my own twist.  I just so happened to have most of an 8 oz package of mascarpone.  I dotted it along the top of the peaches.  Then, I continued with Granny’s original recipe by pouring the flour mixture over the top.  I baked it for about an hour.

 It came out beautiful.  The peaches were sweet and warm.  The cobbler was firm, moist, and golden.  The mascarpone was a nice touch.  I think I may collaborate with Granny again sometime. 

 The only thing I think Granny and I might change next time is to double the cobbler ingredients.  It is my favorite part.  If I could have a cobbler cobbler, I would. 

 I shared part of this Italian/Southern/Summer cobbler with my parents who were impressed with what I did with part of their peach surplus.  Good ole Granny does it every time. 

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

