The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Chocolate Chip Pound Cake
August 16, 2011, 6:03 pm
Filed under: Food I Make | Tags: , , , , ,

Many, many moons ago at a friend’s kid’s birthday party, I had this cake for the first time.  It was delightfully chocolatey and thick.  On that day, it was shaped like a train.  I’ve had it again since then shaped like a dragon, a football, and a rocket.  The girl’s got cake shaping talent, let me tell you.

She also has this awesome, easy recipe that when prepared and served warm has the power to balance the budget and make peace in a warring world. 

Yep, it’s good. 

She is such a good friend and person that she shared this recipe.  Honestly, I don’t know that I would have.  There are some recipes, my friends, that you shall never see on this blog as I will take them to my grave. 

Not only am I opinionated, but I am also a recipe snob.

The Calm Before the Chocolate

But, I have shared this recipe and cake plenty of times.  I make it for dinners and potlucks and sick friends and Relay for Life fundraisers.  Mine is always in the plain shape of a Bundt pan.  It still always goes over well.  On this occasion, I am making it for my parents.  They have watched my kids for me while I have gone back to work.  They watch the kids; they get this cake. 

If only everything could be paid for in randomly shaped chocolate cake. 

We eat it pretty much straight out of the oven and then nuked in the microwave after that.  It is fine cool, but the chocolate chips won’t have that oozey, warm chocolate glow about them that makes one want to hug a stranger. 

Ready for the Oven

Drop what you are doing and go forth.  Make this cake:

One box of Duncan Hines Butter Golden

One large box of chocolate instant pudding mix

½ c. sugar

¾ c. water

¾ c. vegetable oil

4 eggs, beaten

1 c. sour cream

¾ c. chocolate chips

Powdered sugar for dusting

Preheat your oven to 325.  Grease a Bundt pan.  Stir together the cake mix, pudding mix, and sugar.  Add the water, oil, eggs, and sour cream.  Mix until well blended.  Add the chocolate chips and stir.  Pour into the Bundt pan.  Bake for 50 to 60 minutes.  Cool for five then turn it out onto a plate.  Cool for five more and dust with powdered sugar.  Dig in.   

Chocolate Chip Pound Cake

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

