The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Crazy Beans
July 17, 2011, 4:40 pm
Filed under: Food I Make | Tags: , , , ,

Yesterday was a special day-my first great-nephew’s first birthday party. The menu was hamburgers and hot dogs. Simple.

My mom made the slaw. My brother-in-law brought the Nathan’s hot dogs. Easy.

My sister usually makes the beans. Crazy beans, as they are known, are her specialty. She, however, was not at the party. She was on a mission trip in Chicago. For some reason, I volunteered to make the beans. Oh, the pressure.

I tried my best, but it is impossible to make a dish the same way someone else does. I’ve often wondered why that is.

The crazy beans before simmering.

What I did-
1 pound regular sausage
1 onion, chopped
1 pound bacon
1/2 c brown sugar
1/2 c white sugar
1/4 c ketchup
1/4 c vinegar
2 cans kidney beans, drain one
2 cans pork and beans, drain one
1 can butter beans, drained
1 can baked beans

Brown the sausage and the onion together and set aside. In the same pan, brown the bacon. In a large crock pot, add together all the ingredients. Cook on high for two hours, and then turn down to low until ready to serve.

They will end up thick and yummy and hopefully half as good as my sister’s. Hers is this meaty, filling pot of beans that everyone looks forward to. Mine were okay, but I think I’ll leave the crazy beans to her from now on, especially on such a special day.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

