The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Harry
July 14, 2011, 5:19 pm
Filed under: Random Foodie Thoughts | Tags: , ,

“We’ll take the lot. ” -Harry Potter to the lady pushing the cart on the Hogwart’s Express after his new friend Ron opts to eat food from home, from Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling.

Tonight at midnight, while wearing my Hogwarts sweatshirt and eating popcorn, I will be in a dark, crowded movie theater with my niece and sister watching the final Harry Potter.

I am excited and sad at the same time.  

For several years around my sister’s birthday in July and my birthday in November, either a book or movie from the HP franchise would be released. My sister and I always had something to look forward to other than just our birthdays.  Her birthday was yesterday.  With tonight being the last movie, we’ll just have to look forward to plain ole birthdays.  Bittersweet. 

I have read each book at least twice both to myself and outloud to my students, and with only the exception of tonight’s movie, I have seen each movie countless times.  So much makes the Harry story fantastic.  Harry, Ron, and Hermione.  Harry’s parents.  Hogwarts.  Dumbledore.  Snape.  The friendships, the magic, the secrets, the heroes, the villains. 

And, of course, I have to mention the food.

The Chocolate Frogs with their magical cards

Bertie Blot’s Every Flavor Beans  “Alas.  Earwax.” -Dumbledore

Pumpkin Juice

Treacle Tarts

The way the food appears on the table and is swept magically away for dessert.  Or, the way the food floats between the tables of the Great Hall of Hogwarts.  The care Mrs. Weasley takes to prepare a meal for her family.  The way the whole school comes together to eat.  The lavish end of the year banquets.

These delights alone were magic for a kid living in a cupboard under the stairs.  For me as well.  Either reading about these foods or seeing them in the movies has always been such a treat to me, a kid who grew up on a farm in Tennessee. 

I’ve never had the privledge of eating many of the foods from the movie.  Once, my husband and I tried to make Butter Beer.  We had a recipe, but our ingredients from our local grocery store were just a little off.  We drank it, and it tasted terrible, but it was still fun because we were together in the kitchen trying something new and making a memory. 

Tonight, I’ll make another memory as I stay up way past my bedtime to see the last movie.  I’ll miss the stories, the movies, the food.  Reading these books over the years since I read the first one in 1998 taught me to love reading once again. 

Thanks, Harry.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

