The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Irish Boxty’s
July 8, 2011, 3:42 pm
Filed under: Food I Make | Tags: , ,

After eating at McGuire’s Pub, I decided to try to replicate their appetizer Irish Boxty’s.

With no recipe or clue, I set out to make the tasty treats for my family.

My Version of Irish Boxty's

It went something like this:
I boiled a pound of small red potatoes (the only kind I had) until the were tender. I drained them and let them cool on the counter for a while. Then, I peeled them pretty easily; the skins came right off.

I made a mixture of 1/2 cup of parmesean, 1/2 cup of Romano, and a stick of butter, softened. I mashed the potatoes a little, and then I mixed the butter and cheeses in too.

When that was well mixed, I formed seven golf-ball sized balls of potatoes. I coated those in Panko breadcrumbs, and put them in the refrig to cool.

At dinner time, I fried the potatoes for about four minutes. I sprinkled them with a little extra parm.

They were good, but nothing in the world like the Boxty’s at McGuire’s which had a yummy hushpuppy-ishness about them. Mine were like a potato pancake ball.

They weren’t difficult, expensive, or time-consuming. The Panko had a good crunch, and the butter and cheeses were creamy and rich. They weren’t gross, so I might make them again someday. It’s just that they weren’t the same.

Maybe next time I’ll use a recipe.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

