The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


The Back Porch-Destin, Florida

Crab Legs

I looked forward to eating at The Back Porch.  It sounded to me like a place my parents would like, and I mean that it a good way.  I pictured old seafood restaurant style with boat furniture, old menus stained with butter, and nets everywhere.  I anticipated an old-fashioned seafood place.

It wasn’t exactly old-school seafood like that, but that was fine with me.  It was a bright place outside featuring a large Adirondack chair for the kids to sit in for a quick picture.  It also had cats in the yard and a slightly weird smell not related to the cats.  After the chair pics and cat hunting, we were in.  We had no wait even though we were told to expect up to a ninety minute wait.  Once inside, The Smell continued, and  it was a little dark in the middle of the afternoon.  We ate at an open window overlooking a beach full of people sunning and playing in the sand.  Several people walked right up and walked right in dressed in bikinis.  I am nowhere near that brave.  I eat too much butter for that.

We started off with the Back Porch Oysters, an appetizer of oysters covered with a creamy sauce and cheese.  The cheese and sauce together were delicious, but the oysters were hidden in the mix.  They were so small and smothered by the sauce and cheese that they could have been left out and the dish would not have been affected that much.  Not that I am complaining, I liked the dish a lot.  I think the oysters on the half shell would have been a better choice. 

The Back Porch Oysters

 My husband ordered the crab legs.  I don’t get why crab legs are so popular in the South when they are from Alaska.  They were good, but run of the mill.  You can get crab legs of equal quality on any seafood bar anywhere.  He liked them.

I ordered the lobster stuffed mahi-mahi.  Why did I order lobster in the South when they are from Maine?  Because I could. 

Broiled Mahi Mahi Stuffed with Lobster

 
It was devine.  The fish was fresh, and the lobster was plentiful.  The sauce-my word, my mouth is watering just thinking about it.  It was creamy and buttery and smooth.  The corn on both of our dishes was unreal. 
 
The weird thing on my plate is a twice-baked potato.  I took a few bites and then ignored it.  At first, I thought it was a weird loaf of bread.  Luckily, I wasn’t there to eat potatoes. 
 
The Back Porch was good.  I would only change a few things for my next visit. I may even bring my parents along. 
 
 

Destin Pointe on Dwellable
1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] for our first meal, and we walked right in, took a table outside, and ordered. We had eaten at The Back Porch before. Just like last time, it was fabulous. We started with the oysters. Fresh and […]

Pingback by Take Two: The Back Porch-Destin, Florida | The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It




Leave a Reply

