The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Pompano Joe’s

The Appetizer-Calamari

The Fried Grouper Sandwich

The Seafood Platter

 
First stop of the trip, Pompano Joe’s on Scenic Gulf Drive.  We were starving, and the idea of a fun seafood place after a long drive was enticing.
 
The place was nice-the windows were open and the breeze off the water that was right outside the window by our table was so pleasant.  I loved the atmosphere of happy servers and great music, and I felt like we had made a good choice for our first culinary stop of the trip when the appetizer arrived.  It was calamari-a favorite of mine, and I was not disappointed.  It was delicious, but I can get good calamari at Red Lobster.  I thought, “This is Destin! The gulf is right there!  I am looking at it.  Bring on the main course!”
 
I should have stopped there.
 
I ordered the seafood platter of broiled fish, scallops, oysters, and shrimp with a twice baked potato.  It looked great when it arrived at out table several minutes after we ordered it.  (Stress of the word several.)  It was fine, but it lacked that fresh quality that I expect as I am eating seafood while looking at the sea. Again, this is not Red Lobster in landlocked homeville, and I wanted to be impressed.  I could have ordered this food from a food service myself. 
 
The best part? The potato.  And I wasn’t looking at a potato farm.
 
With my food, I got a side I was looking forward to-pineapple slaw.  A specialty! the menu said.  I took one bite ready for something new.  It was just slaw.  I took another bite.  Just slaw.  I dug around.  In the whole mediocre cup of slaw, I found one pineapple which I ate with a bite of slaw. Wow.  Slaw with pineapple. I was disappointed and stuck with a cup of pineapple slaw sans the magical pineapple. 
 
My husband ordered the grouper sandwich, a meal he only eats on vacation.  He ate it all, but I could tell by the look on his face that it was only ok.  
 
We will not be returning to Pompano Joe’s again.  I can fix a potato and sit by an open window at home.  Call me tough, but on vacation, I want fresh and knock-my-socks-off good.  This place did not deliver. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

