The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Red Robin’s Royal Red Burger
June 13, 2011, 3:24 pm
Filed under: Food Made by Other Food Folks | Tags: , ,

I have started a new hobby when I approach an unfamiliar menu.  My plan is to find the weirdest thing on the menu and order.  This has only backfired once so far with a bad choice of fish, but that’s another story.  This particular story here has a happy ending. 

A girl.  A burger.  A fried egg. 

I had only been to Red Robin once many moons ago, and on that trip I was not impressed.  I thought the burger I had that day was too “pre-made.”  I mean, if I want a terrible burger, there are plenty of places around for those.  At a sit-down restaurant, I want fresh.  What I ate on my first trip-gross.  I could have done better at home. 

So when my family belted out (over and over) the Red Robin theme-“Red Robin! Yummm!”-I was expecting plain burger town.  As I looked over the menu looking for the weirdest thing to eat, I almost missed the burger I was destined to enjoy.  Hidden between the normal guac burger and the plain-Jane BBQ burger was my burger du jour.  The Royal Red.

I found out it was not a burger to be taken lightly.  It is a monster of beef, tomato, lettuce, bacon, and (gasp!) a fried egg.  Intimidating for sure, but it is pure adventure between a bun. And yes, I do think this way.

The egg has found its place on the burger.  It’s not as gross as it sounds.  I mean, we eat eggs with sausage, bacon, in quiches.  It makes sense now that I’ve had one.  An egg on a burger!

The only problem I had with the situation was the cheese was a little overpowering, but the bacon, lettuce, and tomato were on the spot.

Alas, I couldn’t finish the whole thing, and it isn’t very portable so no doggy bag.  My weirdest-menu-item gamble paid off at Red Robin, and you can bet I’ll be making my own egg burger at home soon.  Stay tuned for that.

 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Just had my second of these burgers. Yum!

Comment by theopinionatedfoodie




Leave a Reply

